As you may have already heard there are cases of hackers hijacking online classrooms and meetings. We wanted to share updates and support articles to help you keep your online classrooms and meetings secure.
This icon provides a quick and easy way for hosts to located and enable many of Zoom’s in-meeting security features.
Visible only to hosts and co-hosts of Zoom Meetings, the Security icon provides easy access to several existing Zoom security features so you can more easily protect your meetings.
By clicking the Security icon, hosts and co-hosts have an all-in-one place to quickly:
- Lock the meeting
- Enable the Waiting Room (even if it’s not already enabled)
- Remove participants
- Restrict participants’ ability to:
- Keep your Zoom app updated. Visit the Zoom Download Center to get the latest version of Zoom.
- Add a password to your meeting to keep it private.
- Enable the “Waiting Room” feature so you can control who enters.
- Do not share invites to Zoom meetings on social media. Instead, send the meeting password directly to attendees.
- Use a random meeting ID, so it can’t be shared multiple times. According to Zoom’s website, this is safer than using a “Personal Meeting ID.”
- Keep your screensharing settings set to “Only Host”. This is a default in all Education Zoom accounts.
- Lock a Zoom session that has already begun so no one else can join. Do this by clicking “Participants” in the bottom of a Zoom window, then clicking “Lock Meeting.” Those that leave the meeting will not be able to reconnect.
- If someone enters your session without permission, you can remove participants. Remove participants by hovering over their name in the Participants menu and click the “Remove” option.